Ghastly Youth – Electronic – Cincinnati, US

Posted: April 14, 2013 in Music
Tags: , , , , , ,

ghastly youth

Ghastly Youth is the musical project of Kyle Plunkett. A hearing-impaired man who facing many challenges along with music and won’t give up his passion on music.  He is a music production/music management major in college. He has played and writen music for at least ten years.

Ghastly Youth kindly answered my questions, Learn a little about this new musical talent.

What got you into being a musician?
There are a lot of things that make me to become a musician. At first, it was my dad who inspired me to become a musician. He had wide knowledge of music history and a huge music collection. While I was growing up, my dad and I always talk about artists and bands and their history and always jam with the music. Secondly, I’ve been picked on a lot at school. I wear hearing aids to help my hearings. What shocked people is that I have the ability to make music because it has been my passion and also an escape from my pains.

How long have been a musician?
2001 was the year I took my first music lessons on drums. 2009 was when I started making music but I never got serious about music until 2011.

Who are your major influences?
That is a hard one. I would say God, my dad, The Doors, Nirvana, Korn, and Sonny Moore/Skrillex.

What do you like most about playing music as a career?
What I like the most about playing music is that there’s no rules in music. I’m the creator and I can create whatever I want to create.

 wege

The music

What are the main themes or topics for your songs?
My music is most instrumentals as of now. So, I don’t know what really the main themes or topics for my songs.

Where do you get your inspiration for the music you write?
I usually get my inspirations from many electronic artists like Aphex Twin, Skrillex, and Deadmau5.

Do you think the themes of your songs will change over time?
My songs are instrumentals so there is no specific theme to them.

How has your music evolved since you first began playing music?
My music has been evolved a lot since I first began playing music. It now has become more mature, more calm and relaxing, and more darker and softer.

Any advice for young musicians looking to get into music as a career?
Yes. Do not worry about getting a record contract at first. Most record labels can destroy your dreams. If you want to be a successful musician, do not put your mind on record contract, money or fame. Put your mind on your music. Is this where you want your music to go? If not, fix it!

What are your favorite and least favorite gig?
To be honest, I have never done a gig yet.

Do you ever play any covers?
I don’t play covers. Im working on original material

Which song(s) do you like performing the most?
I’ve never performed before.

What has been your biggest challenge as a musician?
Trying to get a show.

wege

Any music in the works for future release?
I recently released some singles. There’s may be like a 4 to 8 tracks EP album coming soon.

How can fans-to-be gain access to your music?
By social media. I love social media because I can reach fans on Facebook, Twitter, Soundcloud, and many others.

Any last words or anything to add/promote?
The internet is the future of music. Be active at social networking. It will help reach your fans and have people to connect with your music.

www.facebook.com/plunkettmusic
www.twitter.com/kyleplunkett
www.myspace.com/kyleplunkettmusic
www.soundcloud.com/kyleplunkettmusic
www.reverbnation.com/ghastlyyouth

Leave a Reply

